Showing posts with label Google Photos. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Google Photos. Show all posts

Use Google Photos to verify same person

Nathan Dylan Goodwin asked people on twitter if they thought the person in two different photos were the same person. Social media is a great way to get other people's opinion but I suggested another way.

Are you scanning in photos and not sure who everyone is or if they are in another photo? Try the following.

Side Note before you start
You might want to create a separate Google account with just your ancestor photos. It doesn't cost anything and then your personal photos will be separate.  This gives you less recent photos to mix with your ancestors.

Search
1. Go to Google.  If necessary, create a Google account.

2. Log in, if you are not already.

3. Click on the 9 dots in the top right hand corner of the screen. The menu appears.

4. Click on the Google Photos icon. The following menu appears on the left. Photos on right.

5. Click Albums from the left menu.

6. Click on People or Click on People & Pets.
Pets was recently added. (Explanation below.) Some platforms does not include Pets yet.


A photo of each person you have in all the photos you have upload are listed. If you have created photo albums they are listed here.

7. Click on the photo of the person you want to find match photos of. Photos that Google Photos thinks is the same person will appear on the web page.

Google Photos will find the same people even if they are children. If Google Photos is not sure if it is the same person with different ages, it will ask you if it is the same person.

Add a name to the person/album and share with others.
Near the top left hand corner of the screen it will ask you for a name. 
1. Click on Add a name 

2. Type in the name of the person. 

3. Hit Enter.

Pets added comment by Google Photos

Google Photos: Editing

You can edit a photo you have stored in Google Photos.

Save As Copy
But before you begin making changes make a copy of the photo first. Once it is edited, you no longer have the original copy unless you save it first.

1. Click on photo.

The photo appears on its own screen now. In the top right-hand corner is a menu.





2. Click on the Edit icon. The second one.




The following menu now appears partially on the photo.
The full panel of options on the right will be explained below.






3. Click on the 3 vertical dots.

The following menu appears.












4. Click on Save copy.
A copy is now placed in the album. You can now edit on the copy, which is open, and the original will remain the same.

Edit a Photo
1. Click on the photo, if it is not already on the screen.
The menu appears in the top right.





2. Click on the Edit icon from the menu in the top right-hand corner. Second icon.
The following menu appears on the right side.


















3. Click on the option you would like. If you don't like your choice pick another one.

4. When you click on an option, a scroll bar appears under the line of three.
     Slide the circle on the bar to the left to make changes.













5. If you do not like the change, slide back to the right. Continue until you like the change.

6. Once you are done, click one of the following options:






     Undo Edits to return picture to the original
     Done and all changed will be saved.
     If you have not saved it to make a duplicated your original is now lost.